Spring Kick (& Run)-Off!

1 Mar

I know, I know!  I’ve been absent for over a month, but I’ll have all of you know that you haven’t been far from my mind.  I’ve been working on compiling some great stuff that will get you excited for the coming spring since we have FINALLY said goodbye to that miserable, life-hating b*tch, February.  While March isn’t exactly everyone’s favorite month, we can rest a bit easier knowing that we can look forward to spring and summer and all of the fun they bring with them.  I don’t know about ya’ll, but my summer is going to be crazy in a very, very good way.  That being said, I am currently working on whipping myself into shape so I don’t look like a complete blob when the camera is brought out to commemorate many a special occasion.  This involves buying better groceries, moving more, and NOT having two black & tans (thanks to The Irish Snug in Denver!) and some Girl Scout cookies for dinner.

One way I have been attempting to get into shape is by joining a soccer team.  I had never played soccer up until a month ago since I grew up in po’dunk Iowa where you had to join inconveniently-located league teams if you wanted to play (which I didn’t).  I got onto this particular team through some friends who are also my classmates as well as my once and future softball teammates (Go Lazer Vikings!!).  I forewarned them that I had never played soccer before, save some pretty pathetic games in junior high P.E., but they were more than happy to let me on.  However, they underestimated how much I do NOT know about soccer.

The first problem came within about five minutes of me arriving to our first game at Boulder Indoor Soccer.  I was all excited since my friend David had lent me a spare pair of his shin guards.  I thought I looked awesome.

However, my excitement was significantly quelled when my friend Kate looked at me with some confusion and asked, “Where are your socks?”  Feeling a little confused, I tugged on the edge of my running footies to show her that I wasn’t so dumb as to forget socks. GEEZ.  . . . then I realized that everyone was wearing tall socks, like these:

Oh.

Luckily, people came to my rescue and had some extra socks on-hand (they were clean, don’t worry).  I put them on and was ready to kick the crap out of some balls! I couldn’t wait to show off my sweet action shots like this one:

Or this one:

(Note: you should never be in these particular positions while playing soccer. You will hurt yourself.) I will say that I shouldn’t be blamed too much for the sock situation.  I TOLD them I knew nothing about soccer.  This was shown even more when I had no idea where to stand at the beginning of the game, nor at any other time.  I ran a lot for really no purpose at all.  I looked tough, though!  These last few weeks I have been able to get a much firmer grasp on the game, and our team manager, Randy, even told me he was impressed with how fast I caught on.  I was super proud of that, seeing as the middle schooler who lives inside of me has always felt useless and uncoordinated in organized sports.  Softball will start again next week, and I’m actually excited for it.  I had hated softball for several years, mostly because I thought it was boring and I was the only member of my immediate family who was bad at it.  However, after being on a team last summer and joining the Lazer Vikings upon moving to Boulder, I find that I actually have a lot of fun, and I’ve proven to myself that I have (mostly) grown out of my terrible hand-eye coordination.

Even if you don’t consider yourself a “sporty” person, league sports in your 20s and 30s are a really fun way to get out and exercise as well as meet people (the beer drinking aspect is great too!).  The one caveat I will add is that it is crucial to join an easy-going team.  We’ve played some intense teams who have beat us, but they didn’t look like they were having any fun, and they just seemed like complete jerks to players and spectators alike.  I seriously witnessed a 6’4″ muscle-y man throw a hissy fit because my friend Lindsay tried to kick the ball away from him (Lindsay is maaaybe 5’4″ and no more than 110 lbs).  It was pathetic.  Entertaining yes -but pathetic.

Besides soccer, I have returned to my go-to (and favorite) sport, running.  Kenz has officially signed up to do a half marathon, and I am trying to work out the details of running Bolder Boulder in late May.  The issue I know a lot of people have with running is motivation.  It’s not only difficult to get out of bed and get to the gym, but it’s also hard to stay strong while running -especially when you’re in that grueling stage where your body is still working itself out of winter hibernation.  The best answer for this is usually great running music.

Now, what I consider great running music may not work for everyone, but I have spent about the last month compiling some of my favorites (and trust me, I would have taken longer since I’m super OCD when it comes to music).  There’s really no rhyme or reason for what I like to run to.  I can run to fairly slow songs as long as they have a good steady rhythm to keep me going.  However, sometimes I need an otherwise-cruddy pop anthem to do the job.  There have even been times when I’ve turned to Matchbox 20 (don’t make that face at me).  Most of the time though, Led Zeppelin and the White Stripes are who I turn to.

A lot of people, I’ve found, rely heavily on “mood music” to get them through a run.  Taking this into consideration, I have created a few themed playlists to help you, dear reader, build up your running music collection and to motivate you to get sprinting!  Now, I know not all of the songs will appeal to everyone, but I have included the lengths of the songs as well as the song titles so you can compile your very own playlist for your specific workout.  Go crazy!  Run fast!  And if you have some songs you would like to suggest that have gotten you through a killer workout, please share them here.

Girl Power Mix

Dog Days Are Over –Florence & the Machine (4:13)

Lazy Eye – Silversun Pickups (5:54)

Barrowland Ballroom – Amy MacDonald (3:58)

Single Ladies – Beyonce (3:13)

Monster Hospital – Metric (3:30)

Jolene – Mindy Smith feat. Dolly Parton (4:18)

Spiderwebs – No Doubt (4:28)

I’ll Be Waiting – Adele (4:02)

You Oughta Know – Alanis Morissette (4:09)

RESPECT – Aretha Franklin (2:25)

Chain of Fools – Aretha Franklin (2:46)

A Natural Woman – Aretha Franklin (2:44)

Think – Aretha Franklin (2:19)

The Weight – Aretha Franklin (2:54)

Paper Planes – M.I.A. (3:23)

Express Yourself – Madonna (4:04)

Ray of Light – Madonna (5:20)

Born This Way – Lady Gaga (4:20)

 

“Cool” Mix

Spaceman – The Killers (4:44)

Cousins – Vampire Weekend (2:25)

The Great Salt Lake – Band of Horses (4:45)

Bang Theory – World Leader Pretend (4:40)

Magnificent – U2 (5:24)

Supermassive Black Hole – Muse (3:29)

Screen Test – The Envy Corps (3:56)

Jaded – Aerosmith (3:35)

We Used to Wait – Arcade Fire (5:03)

E-Pro – Beck (3:22)

Twisted Logic – Coldplay (5:01)

Feel Good Inc. – Gorillaz (3:41)

Kids With Guns – Gorillaz (3:46)

All These Things That I’ve Done – The Killers (5:03)

Time to Pretend – MGMT (4:22)

Ocean Breathes Salty – Modest Mouse (3:53)

Here It Goes Again – O.K. Go (2:59)

Requiem for O.M.M. – Of Montreal (2:19)

Fortress – Pinback (4:10)

A Kind of Magic – Queen (4:26)

The Great Salt Lake – Band of Horses (4:45)

Intergalactic – Beastie Boys (4:14)

Black Tambourine – Beck (2:47)

Scarecrow – Beck (4:15)

Pumped Up Kicks – Foster the People (3:59)

Love Interruption – Jack White (2:36)

 

Angry Mix

Kiss With A Fist – Florence & the Machine (2:05)

I’m Shipping Up To Boston – Dropkick Murphys (2:33)

Uprising – Muse (5:04)

Threshold – Sex Bob-omb (1:47)

Doesn’t Remind Me – Audioslave (4:17)

Zombie – The Cranberries (5:07)

This Ain’t A Scene (It’s An Arms Race) – Fall Out Boy (3:32)

Take Me Out – Franz Ferdinand (4:03)

I Think I’m Paranoid – Garbage (3:38)

Holiday – Green Day (3:54)

Bawitdaba – Kid Rock (4:27)

Freak On A Leash – Korn (4:15)

Mad Season – Matchbox 20 (5:02)

Satin in a Coffin – Modest Mouse (2:37)

Bury Me With It – Modest Mouse (3:53)

Smells Like Teen Spirit – Nirvana (5:01)

Drift & Die – Puddle of Mudd (4:27)

She Hates Me – Puddle of Mudd (3:36)

Megalomaniac – Incubus (4:54)

 

Sexy Mix

Poker Face – Lady Gaga (3:57)

Bones – The Killers (3:47)

Fell in Love With A Girl – The White Stripes (1:50)

Denial Twist – The White Stripes (2:35)

Jaded – Aerosmith (3:35)

We Intertwined – The Hush Sound (3:17)

Losing Touch – The Killers (4:15)

On Top – The Killers (4:20)

What Is And What Should Never Be – Led Zeppelin (4:44)

Immigrant Song – Karen O., Trent Reznor, & Atticus Ross (2:47)

Houses of the Holy – Led Zeppelin (4:03)

In the Evening – Led Zeppelin (6:49)

Beautiful Stranger – Madonna (4:21)

I Like the Way You Move – Outkast (3:55)

Tie Your Mother Down – Queen (3:45)

Rag Doll – Aerosmith (4:13)

We No Speak Americano – Yolanda Be Cool & Dcup (4:29)

 

Pop Tart Mix

Let’s Get It Started – Black Eyed Peas (3:37)

Lose Control – Missy Elliott (3:15)

One, Two Step – Ciara (3:23)

Pump It – Black Eyed Peas (3:32)

Hey Mama – Black Eyed Peas (3:34)

Hollaback Girl – Gwen Stefani (3:19)

Tik Tok – Ke$ha (3:19)

Bad Romance – Lady Gaga (4:54)

Telephone – Lady Gaga feat. Beyonce (3:40)

Just Dance – Lady Gaga (4:01)

Get Low – Lil Jon and the Eastside Boys (5:34)

Bright Lights – Matchbox 20 (3:54)

Country Grammar – Nelly (4:49)

Hey Ya – Outkast (4:10)

Shake Ya Tail Feather – P. Diddy, feat. Nelly (4:16)

Just Push Play – Aerosmith (3:51)

 

Happy Mix

The Man of Metropolis Steals Our Hearts – Sufjan Stevens

Heavy Metal Drummer – Wilco (3:08)

Hiroshima (B-b-b Benny Hit His Head) – Ben Folds (3:37)

Better Way – Ben Harper (4:00)

The Man of Metropolis Steals Our Hearts – Sufjan Stevens (6:17)

Let’s Get Out Of This Country – Camera Obscura (3:22)

Hands Down – Dashboard Confessional (3:06)

Jimi Thing (Live) – Dave Matthews Band (8:13)

Stay (Wasting Time) – Dave Matthews Band (5:35)

The Sound of Settling – Death Cab for Cutie (2:12)

Praise You – Fatboy Slim (3:24)

Read My Mind –The Killers (4:06)

Mr. Maker – The Kooks (3:00)

Shine On – The Kooks (3:14)

Over the Hills and Far Away – Led Zeppelin (4:51)

Are You Gonna Go My Way – Lenny Kravitz (3:31)

Float On – Modest Mouse (3:29)

Say Please – Monsters of Folk (2:48)

If You Ever Stop Loving Me – Montgomery Gentry (3:02)

I’m Amazed – My Morning Jacket (4:33)

Cherry, Cherry – Neil Diamond (2:44)

Kentucky Woman – Neil Diamond (2:28)

Holly Holy – Neil Diamond (4:32)

Crazy Game of Poker – O.A.R. (4:41)

Stay Young – Oasis (5:08)

Don’t Look Back in Anger – Oasis (4:47)

Starry Eyed Surprise – Paul Oakenfeld (3:50)

I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) – The Proclaimers (3:38)

Seven Seas of Rhye – Queen (2:48)

Big Balls – AC/DC (2:37)

Home – Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros (5:05)

 

Rock Out

Carry On Wayward Son – Kansas (5:21)

Take the Money and Run – Steve Miller Band (2:52)

My Generation – The Who (3:24)

All Right Now – Free (5:35)

Rock & Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution – AC/DC (4:27)

Sweet Emotion (Live)– Aerosmith (5:57)

American Woman – The Guess Who (3:51)

White Riot – The Clash (1:59)

London Calling – The Clash (3:21)

Train in Vain – The Clash (3:11)

Should I Stay Or Should I Go – The Clash (3:07)

Bad Moon Rising – Creedence Clearwater Revival (2:20)

Times Like These – Foo Fighters (5:25)

Feels Like the First Time – Foreigner (3:52)

VooDoo Child – Jimi Hendrix (5:12)

Carry On Wayward Son – Kansas (5:21)

Immigrant Song – Led Zeppelin (2:27)

Black Dog – Led Zeppelin (4:56)

Rock & Roll – Led Zeppelin (3:40)

Kashmir – Led Zeppelin (8:39)

Ramble On – Led Zeppelin (4:24)

Black Betty – Lynard Skynard (4:00)

Bat Out of Hell – Meat Loaf (9:52)

Dark Horses – Nathan Xander (2:44)

Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen (5:55)

Keep Yourself Alive – Queen (3:45)

Back in Black (Live) – AC/DC (4:27)

For Those About to Rock – AC/DC (5:45)

Money Talks – AC/DC (4:18)

Livin’ On The Edge – Aerosmith (5:23)

The Funeral – Band of Horses (5:22)

Can’t Stop – Red Hot Chili Peppers (4:29)

Give It Away – Red Hot Chili Peppers (4:42)

Around the World – Red Hot Chili Peppers (3:58)

By the Way – Red Hot Chili Peppers (3:36)

 

Get Rhythm

Gone Gone Gone – Robert Plant & Alison Krauss (3:32)

Four Winds – Bright Eyes (4:16)

Wire & Wool – The Envy Corps (4:15)

My Doorbell – The White Stripes (4:01)

Black Tambourine – Beck (2:47)

Scarecrow – Beck (4:16)

Boom Boom Pow – Black Eyed Peas (4:11)

Frank Sinatra – CAKE (4:45)

Collarbone – Fujiya & Miyagi (4:05)

Rocket – Working For a Nuclear Free City (4:49)

Let the Cool Goddess Rust Away – Clap Your Hands Say Yeah (3:38)

This Is Radio Clash – The Clash (4:11)

Smashing Young Man – Collective Soul (3:45)

I Will Possess Your Heart – Death Cab For Cutie (8:25)

Doo Wop (That Thing) – Lauren Hill (5:20)

Mario Bros. Theme – Nintendo (3:37)

Me And Julio Down By The Schoolyard – Paul Simon (3:13)

Cecelia – Paul Simon (3:24)

It’s the End of the World – R.E.M. (4:06)

Come Together – Aerosmith (3:40)

Smooth Criminal – Alien Ant Farm (3:44)

 

Cool Down

Jacksonville – Sufjan Stevens (5:24)

High Speed – Coldplay (4:14)

Death and All Of His Friends – Coldplay (6:18)

Green River – Creedence Clearwater Revival (2:34)

Clint Eastwood – Gorillaz (3:45)

Give Me Novacaine – Green Day (3:27)

Sugar – Imperial Teen (3:32)

Are You In? – Incubus (4:26)

The Battle of Evermore – Led Zeppelin (5:52)

Never Knew Your Name – Mason Jennings (3:43)

Fighter Girl – Mason Jennings (3:24)

The Good Times Are Killing Me – Modest Mouse (4:16)

The Next To Be With You – Mr. Big (3:28)

Kodachrome – Paul Simon (4:13)

You Can Call Me Al – Paul Simon (5:10)

Loves Me Like A Rock – Paul Simon (2:53)

Better Man – Pearl Jam (4:28)

Draggin’ the Line – R.E.M. (4:27)

Oh No – Andrew Bird (4:20)

The Suburbs – Arcade Fire (5:17)

Don’t Tell Me – Madonna (4:40)

Leave a Reply

