I am officially a legit procrastinator.

12 Apr

Something really has to be wrong with me. As ya’ll know, I have sooooo much time on my hands of late. Yet here I am 2 days before a final draft of a research paper is due with it not remotely completed. I have major A.D.D. when it comes to writing this paper. I’ll start to get going and then have an all consuming need to check Facebook and blogs. Or catch up on 30 Rock. Or go outside. Or file my nails. You get the drift. I really enjoy being back in school (I do!) but taking 3 1/2 years off is kicking me in the ass just about now. I’m sure with a little more time into the program, a paper such as this will be NBD. Here’s to hoping.

In other RANDOM news, I have ridiculous plans on Saturday morning. I am going to an open casting call for a Danish reality show. What the what?! I know… I saw a snippet on the news today (while not writing this blasted paper!) about this casting call. It’s calling Danish-Americans in the greater twin cities area to come to interview to be a part of some show where you go to Denmark and compete in various challenges (Danish challenges? Like eating my weight in¬†aebleskiver? I hope!) to win some $$. You have to have at least a little proven Danish ancestry to be eligible. Luckily for me, my great-grandmother Mabel was 100% Danish. Making me 12.5% Danish. Should count I think. I talked with my mom tonight and got all kinds of cool history about Mabel’s family. I was in 5th grade when she died, but I’ll always remember her. She was born in 1900 and I always think about how incredible her life must have been. Imagine the things she lived through!

Who knows the odds of this panning out? Probably not in my favor, but what the hell? I’ll give it a shot. At the very least I’ll have a story about the time I went to a casting call for a Danish reality show. Totes random.

Okay, back to this paper which is slowly sucking my soul away. (I know, so dramatic. Perfect for reality tv, though!)

Xoxo,

Gossip M (Because I’m cool like that and am copying GG)

2 Responses to “I am officially a legit procrastinator.”

  1. thewarpedpen April 12, 2012 at 4:47 AM #

    I would get onto that show with my last name alone. Danish to the max! Too bad I know absolutely nothing about the culture . . .

  2. purplecrayondraws April 12, 2012 at 4:56 AM #

    Obviously you just need to come try out with me. And then we can both make it (duh) and get a free trip to Denmark. Mabel’s maiden name was Madsen, so yeah, the “sen” names must be very Danish!

Leave a Reply

