Green Goddess Soup

22 Jul

I love reading blogs. There are a handful of blogs I read from people I know. There are also numerous blogs I read from people I don’t know, but seriously wish I did. For example, when telling my boyfriend about one of my favorite food blogs, Iowa Girl Eats , I actually said the phrase, “This is my friend’s blog.” Let me go ahead and admit that I have never, not even once, met Kristen from Iowa Girl Eats. So the fact that I introduced her as “my friend” must be about the biggest (non-sexual) Freudian slip ever, right?

I also so, so, so, so wish I could be best friends with Liz from One Twenty Five. (I know, I’m sounding creepier by the second!) This girl is me. Well, pretty much a way more awesome, cute, and witty version of me. I feel like I actually know this girl, even though we’ve obs never met as she’s Canadian and currently living in Melbourne. BUT…if we met, I have no doubts that we’d get along swimmingly. Check her out. She’s the shiz.

There are also Cara and Phoebe of Big Girls, Small Kitchen. These 2 fantastic gals found a niche in the “I’ve been out of college for a little bit, have no money, and a very small kitchen” market. They even have their own cookbook, In the Small Kitchen. Did I mention these 2 are my age? And they have their own cookbook. #jealous

Today I woke up with the need to eat healthy. Do you ever feel that way? Maybe I’ve just had an abundance of processed food or something lately, but man, I woke up in a “Ugh, I need veggies stat” kind of way. Fear not. I made Green Goddess soup. Even if you’d rather play dead than eat veggies, this is a pretty yummy way to get them in.

This recipe was taken from In the Small Kitchen and I am going to share it with you! (There is proooobably something illegal about that, but I am giving credit to Cara and Phoebe, AND telling everyone to buy their book.) Am I good? I hope so cause here.I.go.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 large Swiss chard leaves with stems
  • 2 cups chicken stock (or vegetable stock for all my vegetarian friends)
  • 2 cups coarsely chopped zucchini (about one large zucchini)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro leaves
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • couple pinches of lemon zest
  • Pinch of cayenne (I didn’t have any on hand, so I used paprika)
  • Sour cream (optional)

1. Remove the Swiss chard leaves from their stems. Rinse both thoroughly under running water until all the grit and dirt is removed. Coarsely chop the stems (about one cup). Chop the leaves (you should have 2 cups, tightly packed.)

2. In a medium Dutch oven bring the stock and chard stems to a boil over high heat. (Just at a boil, my apartment was filled with delicious aromas.) Reduce the heat, and simmer for 4 minutes. Then add the chard leaves, zucchini, and salt. Cover, and simmer for another 5 minutes. When the vegetables begin to soften, but are not completely cooked through, add the cilantro and cook for an additional minute. You want to cilantro to wilt just slightly.

3. Transfer the entire contents of the pot to a food processor or blender. (I used a blender, which worked fine, but ordinarily would have chosen the food processor. However, I lost the blades to my food processor. (Seriously, who does that?) Add the cream if using (which I did) and puree until the mixture is completely smooth.

I then transferred the soup back into the Dutch oven.

Add the lemon juice, cayenne (or paprika!), and lemon zest. Serve hot.

Delicious! After the photo was taken, I did choose to add a dollop of Daisy. Because why not make a very healthy soup slightly less healthy? I also had a fresh ear of sweetcorn as a side. Is there anything better than sweetcorn in July? The soup honestly tastes better than it looks and is just perfect for those “Ugh, I feel disgusting” type days.

Hope everyone is having a splendid weekend!

4 Responses to “Green Goddess Soup”

  1. Erin July 22, 2012 at 9:11 PM #

    That sounds amazing!!! I need to try it!

  2. Kayla July 24, 2012 at 4:07 PM #

    Ummm…totally jealous of your cute dutch oven and blender. The soup looks great!

    • purplecrayondraws July 25, 2012 at 5:58 PM #

      Why, thank you! The Dutch oven is a Le Creuset knock off, but totally works for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

