Mastering the Craft

4 Sep

So, like Kenz, I am finding good reason to procrastinate a bit.  School has started up again, meaning that my irresponsibility has shot to an all-time high.  I didn’t know until now, but The Scarlet Letter is really boring.  I can justify this post since I haven’t written in a while -end of summer, family weddings, old people needing to be changed, you know the drill.  Not only did the ol’ blog get neglected, but so did my new apartment.  What with work, prepping for school, and flying home for a little visit, my new place with my roommate, Claire, was dying for a little attention.

I don’t know if I’ve described my old apartment before, but I love my new place a lot more.  Not that my former place was bad, but my new place is cute, convenient, has some great amenities, and isn’t filled to the brim with noisy undergrads.  Since I have been gone more than I’ve been here, its cuteness has been a bit restricted by my lack of attention.  It wasn’t until this past week that I could lavish a little love and make the place home.  I don’t have any good “tour” pictures of the place yet (some things have yet to be put in their proper place) but I wanted to show off some of the crafty projects I have been up to.

While I was home my dad let me know that my great grandmother, who passed away this summer, had left some of us great-grandgirls her costume jewelry.  When I was looking through the pieces I found some great earrings and pendants and my wheels started turning about what I could do with them.  I hope Great Grandma Wilma didn’t care too much about us not wearing them, because I immediately started pulling off the clip-on backs and making plans.  Here are some of the earrings and pins I took:

I’m not sure what I’m going to do with all of them yet, but one plan is to make myself some repurposed jewelry.  A few years ago, I was in my friend Laura’s hometown at a consignment shop off the main square.  A few cute older ladies ran the shop, and one of them made bracelets out of old watches and earrings, and I LOVED them.  They were just so funky and unique, and the stretchy watch band helps them stay in place on my arm (no clunking when typing away at the keyboard).  Here are a couple of the bracelets I have (made fancy on their wine glass displays):

Cute, no?  I know they’re not everyone’s look, but that’s what I like about them.  I want to make my own now with grandma’s old watch and earring:

I’ll just have to figure out how to take out the watch face and battery . . .

There is a bookshelf that I’ve had since high school that my stepmom got me at an estate sale.  It’s nothing all that special, but I’ve gotten a bit attached to it despite the fact that its original knobs have long since disappeared.  I could never find any knobs that were small enough (or cute enough) to fit, so I knew I would have to whip out the super Macgyver skills to make something work.  When I saw grandma’s earrings, I knew I had to work out something to make them into homemade hardware.

Since the bookshelf only had holes where the knobs should go, I had to come up with a way to keep the new knobs in place.  After digging around in my tool kit (which has gotten quite extensive) I pulled out a screw and one of those little plastic things you stick into the wall to keep the screws from causing too much damage.  Does anyone know the technical name for these things?  Probably not.  If you’re confused, here’s a picture:

Using a hot glue gun, I stuck the back of the earring to the head of the screw, then I put the screw into the plastic wall protector:

And, voila!  Cute and incredibly useful mini doorknobs for my petite bookshelf.  You never know what you can do when you’re desperate to make your place look nice.

My next project was actually suggested by my roommate.  Since she’s a 3rd grade teacher and avid crafter, she has tons of paints, paintbrushes, and other fun tools for being a DIY queen.  We decided to make drip jars, which essentially means that you squeeze paint into a jar and put it upside down so it rivers down in varying widths.  We’re both using ours for our pens and random desk objects.  Here’s how they turned out:

Fun, eh?  And Claire wasn’t even finished once that project was completed, so she painted this for her room:

Hurray for having Crafty Sue for a roommate!  I should probably get back to Nathaniel Hawthorne now, but be looking for more fits of boredom from me soon.

Leave a Reply

