Long time, no blog.

13 Sep

Well, hey there internet world.

I’ve been quite a neglectful blogger of late.

Stuff that’s happened in my life:

  • Finished some classes
  • Started some new ones
  • Went to Wisconsin
  • Went to a 10 year class reunion (not mine)
  • Minnesota State Fair
  • Went to SW Minnesota

Class-wise, I finished Art Law, one of the most difficult classes of my life, late last month and (bum, Bum, BUM!) got an A! Shameless, shameless bragging. I know. Got a deserved B in the other class I was in, but let’s face it, I put ALL my effort into Art Law. And as much as it’s a little bittersweet to say adios to my lovely 4.0, this is grad school. One B doesn’t matter. In fact, does any employer at this point really care about GPA? It’s a pride thing. My joy with an Art Law A overwhelms my disappointing B in the other class. New classes have started, both have “Culture” as part of the title. I am going to be ridiculously cultured in a couple months 🙂

My boyfriend and I have been very busy lately. Almost a month ago we took a little day trip to Wisconsin. This involved blueberry picking, hiking, small town style eating, aaaand the Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum.

We Kris purchased $16 worth of blueberries. In the world of pick your own berries, that’s alotofberries. I also would like to say that as we were walking up to pay for our bounty, I said, “I bet this is worth $16.” And I was exactly right. Why have I not been on Price is Right yet?

Then we went hiking. But actual, what-the-what? legit hiking. Like, where is the trail? Why is my entire body covered in burrs? At this clearing, Kris opted for the explorer pose, while (let’s face it) this is the perfect opportunity for a fake senior picture. Am I right?

I can’t remember the name of this town off the top of my head, but it was adorbs. We had lunch and then stopped at the ma and pa-iest place ever. Pie and ice cream. Something about getting to the country, out of the metro, traffic, and noise is a bit refreshing. As obvious as it sounds, going to a town where you don’t have to pay to park everywhere is refreshing.

And then, obviously, I made Kris go to the Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum with me. It was hokier than I could have even imagined. Also, apparently it does not take much to be a museum. This place had a few photos, the copy of a letter LIW wrote, and a “this is what Pa’s fiddle probably looked like” fiddle. Yup. We did that.

And then I was thrown into school. Please don’t judge the wine.

I literally finished my Art Law class and immediately left to attend Kris’ 10 year high school reunion. Got to see his hometown. Tried to avoid the “What do you do?” question like the plague since it’s not exactly super impressive to say I’m unemployed and go to school part time. I thought about coming up with a new backstory, but I didn’t get the chance to use it.

And then we went to the fair. Oh, the fair. Iowans luuuurve them some Iowa State Fair. Guess what? Minnesotans love their fair with almost as fierce a passion. And me? You know, I just am not that into fairs. Here is why: it is impossible for me to go to a fair without leaving feeling DISGUSTING. It’s always hot, uncomfortable, my feet hurt, I’ve eaten fried food, and I always, always have a headache.

At least I got some Tom Thumb donuts, recommended by my mom. Those were quite tasty.

And then we went camping. Most people that know me know I am not really that into camping, but it can be fun! I practically camped the entire summer of 2005 working at Camp Wesley Woods. I got this. Kris and I went to Blue Mounds State Park, about 3.5 hours southwest of the cities. There are some cool rocky cliffs, which I obviously needed to climb around. This picture makes me think about the time my family was in South Dakota when I was a kid. Apparently I got too close to the edge for my brother’s taste and he started to cry. I get some twisted pleasure from that. (Which is the reason my siblings say I’d be in Slytherian if Hogwarts were real. Um. Maaaaybe a little chance. But please, I am obviously a Gryffindor.

After hiking I put jeans on, only to sit, catch my ass on some kind of hook, and cartoonishly rip the back of my jeans. It was one of those slow motion moments. Bye jeans, it was nice knowing you.

The next day I thought it would be good to get to Pipestone. I remember going there as a kid, but my memory is pretty vague. It’s a National Monument where Native Americans can have access to quarry specific stone to make peace pipes with. It’s a really cool place. I’ll recommend it to anyone who finds themselves in Southwest Minnesota.

Staring contest you and me. You win. You always do. (Taken at a store called Indian World. How could we not stop?)

Other than that, life is going along. It was warm today, but I can feel the air getting crisper. I think fall in the cities is going to be awesome.

3 Responses to “Long time, no blog.”

  1. savynaturalista September 14, 2012 at 12:14 AM #

    I love the blueberries did you guys make anything…?

  2. purplecrayondraws September 14, 2012 at 12:43 AM #

    Other than consuming them by the handful, there were many smoothies and blueberry pancakes 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Long time, no blog. « Purplecrayondraws's Blog - September 14, 2012

    […] Long time, no blog.. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

