Can’t Function Today.

26 Sep

My failings today have been comical. As it’s my last week of unemployment (yay!!!) I am soaking up the last of my time off since I will very shortly be back to being a contributing member of society. I was pretty lazy most of the morning until I decided to stop watching Netflix and build something.

Yesterday I went to IKEA and bought a bookcase I’ve had my eye on for a while. My old bookshelf came from Target and cost $30. Three years ago when I was putting it together I put it together all wrong and had to redo it. It took forever to “fix” and has been a little ghetto ever since. Today I thought I was being so so so careful to follow all the instructions as clearly as possible. I thought I had done it perfectly. Until. Until I lifted it up and noticed that the top piece on the shelf had been screwed in backwards. The unfinished rough plywood was totally showing. And this time there was no taking it apart and trying again. It was in there for good. I ended up Macgyver-ing some of the “finished” looking fake wood from the back of my other bookshelf (luckily the same color) and using wood glue to attach it to the unfinished piece on my new bookcase. And while up close you can probably tell something’s up, it’s not super noticeable. Whew! But seriously, I love how even though I was trying SO hard to put it together correctly, I still messed up. The bookcase also has these two doors that go with it. I had to leave for class and was totally confused how to attach them, so I’ll leave it for tomorrow. That being said, my living room is a total cluster of books right now.

I left for class in a rush since I was leaving a few minutes later than I usually do. I ran down to my underground parking garage holding my purse, laptop, cheese sandwich made from the end slices of the loaf, keys, and a bag of kitty litter. And in my rush to hurry, I threw not the dirty litter in the dumpster, but my keys. And they flew up in the air in a way that gave me enough time to shout “Fuuuuuck” in my head. LUCKILY, the garbage had just been emptied today. I can’t imagine if it had been full and slipped between the garbage bags to the bottom of the dumpster. I moved so quickly, that I even surprised myself at my resourcefulness! I moved a large can of paint into the dumpster to help me out once I got in, moved a cart to help me in, and then I whipped my shirt off. Hey, it’s from anthropologie. I wasn’t about to go into a dump with it on. I landed with a thud into the grime covered dump and grabbed my keys which were now covered in a grayish slime. I found a piece of stray cardboard, wiped my hands off as best I could on it, and threw my shirt back on. And no one saw me! I could only imagine one of my old neighbors catching me standing in the middle of the dump in my bra. How to go about explaining that… I left the paint can in the dump, so sorry apartment people, looks like it’s getting thrown away. I ended up using about half my antibacterial spritz on my hands and keys. AND… I wasn’t late to class.

So I am a frazzled mess today, but I certainly can be thrifty!

Leave a Reply

