Holy Broccoli Cheddar Soup, Batman!

23 Oct

About two weeks ago, my mother forwarded me a broccoli cheese soup recipe that she has been using.  My mom is really great at modifying recipes in ever-so-slight ways to make them just that much more awesome, and true to form, she sent me the recipe with those modifications.  I made this recipe last night for the first time, and the new boy I’ve been hanging out with and I completely polished off the whole pot.  I meant to leave some for the roomie, so I promised to make her some tonight.  I did that.  And now that pot is also gone.  This soup is not messing around.

How could I keep this soup from you?  Answer: I couldn’t, so here it is:

Broccoli – Cheese Soup Ala Erin Style:

1 T chopped garlic (fresh, from a jar or substitute 1 t. garlic powder)

2 T Olive oil

1 bunch broccoli tops

2 carrots chopped or shredded

1 ½ C. Milk

1C Velveeta

1 box Chicken broth

¼ C corn starch

In soup pot, sautée garlic and carrot in olive oil. Pour in chicken broth and broccoli, cook over med-high heat until broccoli is cooked. Mash broccoli. Turn down burner. Mix milk and corn starch in a separate bowl, turn heat back up to med-high and slowly pour in milk/corn starch stirring constantly – this should make the soup thick. Turn down the heat again and stir in cubed Velveeta until melted. Add pepper to taste. (Most chicken broth is so salty no add’l salt is needed but taste it to make sure!)

Just to note: I used vegetable broth in place of chicken broth tonight, and as you heard, it really didn’t affect how awesome it was.  This soup is especially great if you have some sourdough bread to dunk in it.  Hey, if you’re going to be downing a bunch of calories anyway, why not?  I hope this soup makes you as happy as it did me!  And if you’re reading this while watching the debate, hurry up and make the soup so you can concentrate on the cheesyness rather than Romney’s utter lack of understanding of geography and Islam.

Leave a Reply

